Instant Actress

Last Sunday I experienced a first: I became a “talent” on a film! Okay, I’m lying; I’ve been an extra before. I was the translator for “The Cónsul of Sodom” when they filmed here in Manila back in 2009 and they cast me as a tobacco factory worker. I don’t think I was even seen on screen so that doesn’t count. Hahaha.

Anyway, “Extra” is not the right term to use for me this time around; it’s “actor” since I was given some lines to speak. EEEEEEP!  For a self-conscious antisocial with stage fright, it ranks high on my list of nerve-wracking-things-I’ve-done-in-my-life-so-far. All those people staring at you… and the camera! I will probably appear on film for a total of 3 minutes, no big deal in the grand scheme of things, but it was a big step for me. I am definitely keeping my day job as an artist/art teacher/graphic designer/Spanish teacher/translator. ;o)

Thanks Nathaniel for the pictures, Marya and Jessica for the company, and Director Leo for the opportunity to be immortalized on film! 🙂 Wheeeeehoooo!

“Instant Mommy” stars Eugene Domingo. It is part of Cinemalaya 2013 and will run from July 26-August 4, 2013 at the CCP, Greenbelt 3, and Trinoma.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Instant Actress

  1. Bernadette says:

    Wow, what a great opportunity, even if it’s just once! Is the movie black and white or are just the photos black and white?

  2. […] when I saw myself on the big screen. What a nerve wracking experience! I wrote about my stint as an Instant Actress in May. What a fun […]

Leave a Reply

